

The Elizabeth Thorndike Adirondack Achievement Award is given annually to an individual who has demonstrated significant contributions to the long-term sustainability of the Adirondack Park through scholarship, research, and policy initiatives. Past awardees include Bill Porter, Boone and Crockett Club Professor of Wildlife Conservation in the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife at Michigan State University Nina Schoch, a wildlife veterinarian and biologist; Ray Curran, Adirondack ecologist; Eileen Allen, SUNY Plattsburgh; Barbara Bedford, Cornell University; Joe Martens, former Commissioner, NYS DEC; Myron Mitchell, SUNY ESF; Jerry Jenkins, Wildlife Conservation Society; Dudley Raynal, SUNY ESF; and, Barbara McMartin, Adirondack author.

Dr. Elizabeth W. Thorndike has spent her professional career in the nonprofit and education sectors, and in public policy positions concerned with the environment at the local, state, and federal levels. Dr. Thorndike was founder, executive director, president, and member of the board of the Center for Environmental Information (CEI) in Rochester, NY from 1973 to 2007. She has held appointments as adjunct faculty at Cornell University since 1996. She has served as a Commissioner of the Adirondack Park Agency where she chaired the Agency's Park Policy and Planning Committee from 1980 to 1995, as a member of Governor Mario Cuomo's Environmental Advisory Board from 1985 to 1994, and as a member of NYSERDA's Board since 1997 where she chairs the Waste and Facilities

Management Committee with oversight for cleanup of the West Valley nuclear waste site. Dr. Thorndike holds bachelor's and master's degrees from Stanford University and Harvard University and a doctorate in natural resource policy and planning from Cornell University.